With all the upsets in round one, there has been plenty of talk about who is to blame. There are the obvious targets like Ovie who, while he most assuredly deserves some blame also gets extra from all the Crosby lovers who compared the latters superb performance vs. Ottawa to AO's lackluster one vs. the Habs.
Frankly, I think the blame for Washington fiasco lays 95% at the feet of Bruce Boudreau. He had a team that most coaches would drool over, he has a GM who made moves at the deadline to address what few shortfalls they had, and he had home ice advantage. Somehow, he is safe and it is everyone else's fault.
The next coach who I think should be on notice is - surprise! - Joel Quenneville. This guy is great in the regular season and seemingly can never come through in the post-season. The Hawks are right up there with the Caps and Sharks as far as having a drool-worthy talent level, but have been inconsistent and very, very sloppy around their own net. Now the Canucks are light years better than the Habs, but if Quenneville can't guide the Hawks in to the next round, then he should be right next to Boudreau on the hotseat to start next season.
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
No comments:
Post a Comment